Faculty of Natural Sciences

About the Faculty of Natural Sciences

The Faculty of Natural Sciences comprises the Department of Biological and Environmental SciencesChemical and Physical Sciences and Mathematical Sciences and Computing. It offers undergraduate and postgraduate programmes, ranging from Diplomas, Bachelor of Science, Bachelor of Science (Honours) ,Master of Science and PhD. The faculty is located at the Nelson Mandela Drive site of the Mthatha campus.

Merger of Legacy Institutions

Walter Sisulu University was founded on 1 July 2005 through the merger of the University of Transkei (Unitra), Eastern Cape Technikon and Border Technikon. Apart from Education, Humanities and Social Sciences that these three institutions contributed to the merger, the University of Transkei also brought along the basic sciences, while the Eastern Cape and Border Technikon brought along the engineering sciences and technology. This newly merged comprehensive higher education institution has positioned itself as a developmental university with the need to increase efficiency and service delivery of its programmes across all campuses.

Two Tier Governance Structure

The programmes and qualifications offered in the faculty are managed by the Dean. The departments are managed by Heads of Departments (HoD). They are in charge of courses and modules together with the learning and teaching activities. They see to it that the quality of total service rendered in the departments is maintained to the highest level.

Academic Focus of the Faculty

The academic focus of the faculty is to offer science programmes that respond to the needs of the work environment. Students are so well prepared that they are able to respond competently by using their knowledge and judgment in addressing discipline related problems and challenges.