Faculty of Educational Sciences

Department of Continuing Professional Teacher Development

General Programme Rules 

  • Attendance of at least 80% in all lectures (theory and practical) is compulsory for all students in undergraduate and postgraduate programmes where applicable.
  • A student with an attendance of less than 80% is not eligible to write any examination in that subject.
  • An attendance register must be signed by the student during the first part of the lecture.
  • This register will either be distributed by the lecturer or by the tutor(s) or demonstrator(s).
  • Assessment of all undergraduate and postgraduate programmes shall take place on a continuous basis throughout the course of each module/course culminating in a written or oral examination at the end of each semester/academic year.
  • Weighting shall be in the ratio of 50%, continuous assessment to 50% written or oral examination. The overall aggregate pass mark shall be 50%.
  • A student with an overall mark of between 40% and 50% subject to a minimum mark of 40% for both continuous assessment and final examination qualify for a supplementary examination.
  • A programme in each discipline must contain at least 50% of credits from modules/courses in that discipline. Credits brought from other institutions may be recognised but must be less than 50% of WSU credits.
  • A student must register for courses/modules worth a minimum of 120 and a maximum of 128 credits each year.
  • To proceed to the next level of study a student must pass two-thirds of what he/she was registered in the year preceding the progression year and meet the prerequisites of the courses he/she intends to register.
  • For a student to graduate he/she must have satisfied all the requirements of a programme he/she registered for.
  • Students will be allowed to register for subjects in higher levels provided a pass mark (50%) for prerequisites for the subjects are met and that there are no timetable clashes.
  • No concurrent registration is allowed i.e., a level two or three student will not be allowed to register a module which pre-requisites he/she does not meet.

Exclusion Rules

  • The maximum permissible period of study of a 360 credits National Diploma is five years and for a 480 credits Degree is six years.
  • When a student reaches the maximum allowed period for the programme, he/she will not be allowed to re-register for the same programme, as per university rules.
  • An excluded student can, however, present himself/herself for re-registration after one year.


Admission into undergraduate programmes:

  • For all Bachelor’s Degree programmes, only applicants whose National Senior Certificate (NSC) results indicate that the learner has met the requirements for admission into Bachelor’s Degree, that is, Bachelors’ endorsement, may be admitted.
  • In the case of the old Senior Certificate, only applicants with a Matriculation Exemption endorsement will be considered for admission.
  • For all Diploma programmes, only applicants whose National Senior Certificate (NSC) results indicate that the learner has met the requirements for admission into at least a Diploma, that is, Diploma endorsement may be admitted.
  • In the case of the old Senior Certificate, a pass with the symbol D (SG) or E (HG) in English and any other 3 school subject will be required for admission.

Admission Point System (APS)

  • The Faculty of Education endeavours to use a point system for admissions.
  • The achievement levels are then translated into points for each NSC subject.
  • Points will be used to calculate the total Admission Point Score (APS).
  • The minimum APS required for likely admission into Diploma programmes (ND ABET and ULME) shall be 24.
  • The minimum APS required for a Bachelor’s degree is 28.
  • The Faculty of Education Admissions Committee considered the administration of admission point score as proposed by Universities South Africa (Usaf).
  • The Committee appreciates the breakdown made in the achievement levels as this advantages a student whose performance is better than others.
  • On the basis of the Usaf proposal, the points will be awarded as in the following example:
NSC % per Subject Points
91% 9,1
86% 8,6
82% 8,2
79% 7,9
64% 6,4
55% 5,5
43% 4,3
39% 3,9
31% 3,1
30% 3,0
29% 2,9
28% 2,8
27% 2,7
26% 2,6
25% 2,5


  • The purpose of the above split will assist departments in admitting students according to their performance as opposed to the previous point system where a learner who scores 70% and the one who scores 79% would both attain 7 points.
  • It should be noted that the above scoring system excludes Life Orientation and Mathematical Literacy.

Points for these two are allocated as follows:

NSC % per Subject Points
90-100% 5
80-89% 4
70-79% 3
60-69% 2
50-59% 1
40-49% 0
30-39% 0
0-29% 0