Faculty of Natural Sciences

Faculty of Natural Sciences

The faculty will be a leading centre offering a range of programmes geared towards producing human capital that uses acquired knowledge in addressing workplace challenges of sustainable development and poverty alleviation.

Mission of the Faculty

In pursuit of its vision, the faculty will be at the forefront of research and innovation generating marketable new knowledge and products that in turn will lead to new startup businesses. Our highly skilled graduates will remain marketable but not only as job seekers as was traditionally the case but capable of starting up small businesses and creating job opportunities not only for themselves but for the broader community.

The faculty prides itself of highly qualified and competent academic staff whose function is not only that of teaching, research and community engagement activities but also that of supporting and nurturing young and developing academic staff and ascertaining continuity. Where there are still gaps, the faculty will attend to them and 

make sure that students and staff are exposed to state-of-the-art equipment that necessitates the fulfillment of the research and teaching achievements listed.

The faculty shall continue to make learning and teaching attractive and enjoyable to our students and staff. Excellent scholarship can only be achieved in an environment that is free of intimidation, friendly and secure.

Departments:

The Faculty of Natural Sciences consists of three (3) departments specialising in highly relevant programmes within the Biological, Environmental, Chemical, Physics, Mathematical, Statistical  as well as computing and applied mathematics.

Below is a list of all the departments with a link to each department.

  1. Biological and Environmental Sciences.
  2. Chemical & Physical Sciences.
  3. Mathematical Sciences & Computing.


Committes:

Research & Higher Degrees

  1. Dr. I Egbichi (Chairperson) (iegbichi@wsu.ac.za) 047 502 2277
  2. Dr. C Musampa (cmusampa@wsu.ac.za) 047 502 2520
  3. Dr. T Dlaza (tdlaza@wsu.ac.za) 047 502 2600
  4. Dr. W Masamba (wmasamba@wsu.ac.za) 047502 2487
  5. Mr. C Kabuya (ckabuya@wsu.ac.za) 047 502 2049
  6. Dr. M Chaisi (mmchaisi@wsu.ac.za) 047 502 2270

Teaching and Learning

  1. Ms Z Magayiyana (zmagayiyana@wsu.ac.za) 047 502 1964
  2. Mr R Kwaye (rkwaye@wsu.ac.za) 047 502 2237
  3. Mr T Ngarivhume (tngarivhume@wsu.ac.za) 047 502 2617
  4. Mrs L Abrahams (labrahams@wsu.ac.za) 047 502 2943
  5. Mr B Mathew (bmathew@wsu.ac.za) 047 502 2622

Quality Assurance

  1. Dr. N Ntoni (nntoni@wsu.ac.za047 502 2311
  2. Mr. ABC Ntshanga (antshanga@wsu.ac.za) 047 502 2526
  3. Ms Afika- amazizi Mbuyiswa (ambuyiswa@wsu.ac.za) 047502 2127
  4. Dr. M Chirwa (mchirwa@wsu.ac.za)
  5. Prof A Oyedeji (aoyedeji@wsu.ac.za) 047 502 1951
  6. Dr. RM Panicker (rpanicker@wsu.ac.za) 047 502 2230
  7. Mr. A Otieno  (aotieno@wsu.ac.za) 047 502 2271

Community and International Partnerships

  1. Mr. HD Kali (hkali@wsu.ac.za) 047 502 2378
  2. Ms. OJ Phokwe (ophokwe@wsu.ac..za) 047 507 2938
  3. Mrs. A Abraham (aabraham@wsu.ac.za) 047 502 2524
  4. Dr. P Tseki (ptseki@wsu.ac.za) 047 502 2602
  5. Dr. J Marks (jmarks@wsu.ac.za) 047 502 2405


Staff:

Faculty Management  Staff

  • Prof. BN Nkeh-Chungag
  • Position: Dean of Natural Science
  • Email: fns-dean@wsu.ac.za
  • Tel:047 502 2454

Faculty Support Staff

  • Ms Nokuzola Dangazele
  • Position: Faculty Administrator
  • Email: ndangazele@wsu.ac.za
  • Tel:  047 502 1968
  • Ms Buyiselwa Tofile
  • Position: Faculty Secretary
  • Email: btofile@wsu.ac.za
  • Tel: 047 502 2454

Academic Staff

  • Biological and Environmental Sciences
  • Chemical and Physical Sciences

Mathematical Sciences and Computing